DataQ Logo
A collaborative platform for answering research data questions in academic libraries

About DataQ

The Project

DataQ is a collaborative platform for the community to use to ask and answer questions related to research data support in academic libraries. Library staff from any institution may submit questions on research data topics to the DataQ website, where questions are reviewed by an Editorial Board of experts. Answers to these questions, from both the community and the Editorial Board, are posted to the DataQ website and include links to resources and tools, best practices, and practical approaches to working with researchers to address specific research data issues. As of 2018, the DataQ Editorial Board will operate as a committee of the Association of College and Research Libraries Digital Scholarship Section with additional financial support for DataQ provided by the Greater Western Library Alliance. Initial leadership for DataQ came from the University of Colorado Boulder Libraries, the Greater Western Library Alliance, and the Great Plains Network with funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services.

How to Participate

Submit any questions that are in some way related to research data AND librarianship to the DataQ site. You can submit questions anonymously or create an account. If you provide your email address, we will contact you with any follow-up questions and/or to let you know when an answer to your question has been posted to the site (usually within two days). You can also comment on any answers posted to the site (requires account).

Current Editorial Board

Andrew Johnson, Convener
Head of Data and Scholarly Communication Services
University of Colorado Boulder

Additional members coming soon...

Project Directors (2014-2017)

Andrew Johnson (Director)
Research Data Librarian
University of Colorado Boulder

Megan Bresnahan (Co-Director)
Life Sciences and Agriculture Librarian
University of New Hampshire

Advisory Board (2014-2015)

Joni Blake
Executive Director
Greater Western Library Alliance

Greg Monaco
Director for Research & Cyberinfrastructure Initiatives
Great Plains Network

Ann Campion Riley
ACRL President 2015-2016
Associate Director for Access, Collections, and Technical Services
University of Missouri

Editorial Team (2015-2017)

Elena Feinstein
Librarian for Chemistry and Biological Sciences
Duke University

Cynthia Hudson-Vitale
Data Librarian
Washington University in St. Louis

Erica Johns
Research Data and Environmental Sciences Librarian
Cornell University

Sherry Lake
Senior Data Consultant
University of Virginia

Standa Pejsa
Data Curator
Purdue University

Sarah Pickle
Assessment Librarian
The Claremont Colleges

Amanda Rinehart
Data Management Services Librarian
The Ohio State University

Yasmeen Shorish
Physical & Life Sciences Librarian
James Madison University

Cecilia Smith
Geospatial Librarian
Texas A&M University

Shea Swauger
Head of Researcher Support Services
Auraria Library

Steve Van Tuyl
Data and Digital Repository Librarian
Oregon State University

Mary Whelan
Geospatial and Research Data Manager
Arizona State University

Christie Wiley
Engineering Research Data Services Librarian
University of Illinois Urbana Champaign

Jackie Wirz
Research and Data Specialist
Oregon Health & Science University